21/52

New York

“Polka dots can’t stay alone.
When we obliterate nature and our bodies with polka dots,
we become part of the unity of our environments. 
Since my childhood,
I have always made works with polka dots.
Earth, moon, sun and human beings all
represent dots; a single particle among billions.”

– Yayoi Kusama

For me Yayoi Kusama represents the queen of dots. After seeing her exhibition for the first time over 10 years ago in an apartment-turned-gallery in Stockholm, I have been transfixed by her art. I saw her exhibitions a few times, with the last one being the Tate Modern retrospective, a few months before becoming pregnant.

Since then the Kusama dot gradually faded as motherhood took hold. Until this week when it reappeared again in the form of the Obliteration Room. In a Chelsea gallery, Kusama had built a typical American suburban home where visitors got polka dot stickers to obliterate everything and anything. So I excitedly took my little dot with me to the exhibition and she happily stuck polka dots all over the furnitures, on herself and me, obliterating us all as if it was the most natural thing in the world of dots.

And suddenly just like that the dots in my life are connected again.

Leave a Reply

