11/52 Neighbourhood

Beirut

This week I was planning on making a long-overdue visit to the museum on my doorstep- one of my neighbourhood’s lesser-known treasures. I walk past it every single day, but in more than two years, I’ve never been inside Le Souffleur. 

Unfortunately, a midst a flurry of farewells and panicking about packing, I still haven’t made it, but if you are curious then you can take a look inside here. And the one thing I can offer you that the photographer of the article can’t is a view of the museum’s roof, taken from my own terrace, this sunny Sunday afternoon, my last in Beirut.

IMG_0536

And here is another of Ain Mriesse’s jewels, Rana Raouda’s gallery, on the corner of the street that she shares her name with, that I also walk past every day, window shopping her works of art. But unlike the museum, I’ve actually been inside, after a spontaneous email to the artist, and I might even buy a painting, a little square of colour and light to remind me of this corner of Beirut, that will always be a little bit our home.

IMG_0540

 

 

2 thoughts on “11/52 Neighbourhood

  1. Le Souffleur looks absolutely amazing and unique! Too bad I didn’t know about it when I was in Beirut. Hope you manage to squeeze it in before you go. If not, it’s always good to leave something left to return to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

